Character Interview: Enric From Wisteria

Three years after the Nero Plague turned 80% of the world’s people into flesh eating zombies,  most humans barely

Never Trust the Family

understand what is happening around them. Our people are struggling to survive. Amongst this madness (and through the ages), a race known as the Others or the Family visit to watch the Earth die,  out of a twisted pleasure.

Welcome! Today I’m interviewing Enric, from the upcoming YA paranormal novel Wisteria by Bisi Leyton. You can find out more about Wisteria  on this blog or on facebook.

How old are you?

I am eighteen.

So that makes you a Junior or Senior in High School or finishing off your A-Levels?

School, no. We’re not like humans. We absorb a lot of knowledge very early in life. After ten years of education, we have learned more than twice as much as a human our age. My main concern is completing the Great Walk, so I will treated like a man when I return home.

When you found out you and your best friend, Bach, were coming to Earth for your rite of passage [the Great Walk] were you excited?

By Earth, you mean Terra?

Er… yeah, I guess so.

It is supposed to be an honor to go on the Great Walk with your best friend, but seriously, Terra! I was furious when I found out. I do not understand why Bach selected this realm.  Especially now. Not only is Terra infested with  humans, but also with flesh eating biters.

I know Bach regrets coming here, but he is too proud to admit it. And leaving the Great Walk early is a sign of great weakness.

What are flesh eating biters?

(Enric laughs) Zombies, you call them that right? Most of Terrans I meet are infected by the Nero Plague and now are flesh eaters. It is quite sad and I almost feel sorry for them.

You talk like you’re not human.

No, I am NOT human. I thought I had made that extremely clear?

You look, sound, smell and walk just like a teenage boy. What are you?

We do not have a name. We are simply called the Family, but some Terrans call us the Others. We are faster, stronger, physically more appealing, more intelligent and …

And more humble

(Enric scowls) I do not like your tone woman.

Tell me about your home realm. What is it called?

Why are you humans so concerned with names? My home is called home. It is land after the  Jade Ocean and it is one of the most beautiful places you will ever see. I come a region of white mountains. The mountains are so amazing, just looking at them, can make a woman cry for days.

Speaking of women, do you have a girl back home?

Several (Enric laughs)

Would you ever consider dating a human girl?

Never, never, that is just sick and wrong. No honorable one of our people could ever sink as low as to consider … a human.

But Bach is your best friend, isn’t he seeing  Wisteria? She is human.

Wisteria is the biggest mistake, Bach ever made. She is dangerous. How the hell did you find out about her? Who the hell are you?… Tell me. Tell me!

Er.. thank you for stopping by. I wish you all the best with the Great Walk. SECURITY!

================================

Wisteria will be out in August 2012.

Leave a Reply

