Interview with YA Author Michael Drakich, Author of The Brotherhood of Piaxa

Today, I’m interviewing author Michael Drakich. I heard about his book through my involvement with the paranormal romance guild.  Quite a few authors in the group suggested I read his work and when I made a call out for contributors to my blog, he one of the first to volunteer (but not the first).

Tell me about yourself?

I’m Michael Drakich. I write speculative fiction – science fiction and fantasy. I’ve written The Brotherhood of Piaxia, and Grave Is the Day and Vows Above.

Can you describe the time when you first realised that writing was something you absolutely had to do?

It was about six and a half years ago. I had bought a fantasy novel that was part of a series of high repute. In fact, it even had a television series made after the books. After reading it from cover to cover I thought, “What a load of crap! I can do better than this.” On Monday, February 20, 2006, at 5:23:53 p.m. I sat down and began writing. I haven’t looked back since.

  How long have you been published?

My first published novel, Grave Is the Day, was released on April 15, 2011, and was published with Knight Romance Publishing (KRP).
What made you decide to publish with a small publisher and then eventually self-publish?

The decision to accept an offer from KRP was one of getting my feet wet. The countless rejections from literary agents had me changing my plans and searching out a small publisher. I appreciate what KRP did for me, and it also provided me additional education as to the industry, things it would have taken much longer to learn on my own. Since then, I have decided to go the self-publishing route, and my newest release, The Brotherhood of Piaxia, is just that. The ebook world is changing the industry daily.

 What advice can you give self-published authors or those with small publishers?

The number one answer is passion. Without it a writer’s work will not improve,…[and the writer won’t] be willing to accept criticisms and setbacks as learning curves.

What are you working on now?

 I have a couple of WIPs underway. One is a thriller entitled Lest the Dew Rust Them. Another is science fiction entitled The Infinite Within. Right now, I am focusing on my most recent release, The Brotherhood of Piaxia. I released it on March 15, 2012. It is an epic fantasy.

 Here is the short synopsis:

 Years have passed since the overthrow of the monarchy by the Brotherhood of Warlocks, and they rule Piaxia in peaceful accord. But now forces are at work to disrupt this accord from outside the Brotherhood as well as within! Follow Tarlok, Savan and Tessia as their paths intertwine with the Brotherhood in pursuit and the powerful merchants’ guild manipulating the populace for their own ends.

Where can we find out more about you?

I have a blog I maintain on my page at Goodreads For my novels, they can be found at AmazonBarnes & Noble and Smashwords.

Right now, The book is on sale at Smashwords for 50% off

One response to “Interview with YA Author Michael Drakich, Author of The Brotherhood of Piaxa

Leave a Reply

